Reviews & comments (996)

Meri Easy Irish Soda Bread

The 'soda' in this easy to make, wildly popular bread doesn't come from club soda, but from soda bicarbonate. Try it with anything you'd eat bread with!
Reviews (996)


24 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: SarathKumar
good
 
07 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: APAETH
This is our favorite Soda Bread. The only tip I can offer is that chemically leavened breads should sit out at room temp for 30 minutes or so in the loaf pan following the mixing to allow the soda and powder to do their jobs. This will create an airier loaf - this holds true for pancakes, biscuits, etc...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: scewbysnks
From the photo of this bread, it does look irresistible. However, there is one ingredient that is not listed and probably makes this bread irresistible, and that is Raisins.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: GABRIELLESMOM
Having never made soda bread before, I was confused as to which recipe might be "the best." I tried this recipe as well as "Amazingly easy Irish soda bread" (submitted by Megan). I liked this bread, but my husband thought it was really plain and boring. However, I LOVED the "Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread" recipe. So, while "Irresistible Irish Soda Bread" was VERY EASY and quite good, the "Amazingly Easy" version produces a bread with a tender, flaky crust and a slightly sweeter bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: SWEETSONGBIRD
This isn't traditional Irish Soda Bread, more like a sweet breakfast bread. I think it is better suited for a brunch or tea than St. Patrick's Day Celebrations! It was tasty, if a little bland. Adding currants makes it less bland (because it isn't like soda bread) and more like a homeade raisin bread. It was hard to reconcile the fact that the bread is both sweet and savory. If you want authentic Irish Soda Bread, check out the "Irish Brown Soda Bread" recipe on this site.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: ALLIS
Wonderfully soft and moist. Everyone at our St. Patty's Day party loved it. I put the batter in two aluminum loaf pans (the kind you can throw away) and they baked up beautifully. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: PK01
Very Good. This bread is a soft dough, so you must put it into a bread pan, unlike other soda breads that you can shape into a loaf. This as with all soda breads is a dense bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: joe szivan
how much raisins?
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Mar 2002
This was very quick and easy to make. I wrapped it in foil overnight and the next day it was so good. It's a good bread for soup or chili or stew. I will definately make this again. Janet McWhorter, Roanoke, Va.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 May 2002
Reviewed by: YVETTEB
Quick and easy! I added some raisins and sour cream. Totally enjoyed it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches