Reviews & comments (120)

Chicken Biryani

This is a delicious rice dish which is often reserved for very special occasions such as weddings, parties, or holidays. It has a lengthy preparation, but the work is definitely worth it. For biryani, always use long grain rice. Basmati rice with its thin, fine grains is the ideal variety to use.
Reviews (120)


29 May 2017
Reviewed by: RajMehta
I just cooked this Biryani. It was tasty, i liked it. I too have some good dishes, check them at http://www.igurucool.in/books.html
 
16 Apr 2016
Reviewed by: mangalorespice
Best Recipe. I loved it. Thanks for sharing the wonderful recipe with us. Buy Online Spices online at http://www.mangalorespice.com
 
01 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: MDSGH
this recipe is absolute rubbish , excuse me but it is not biryani its more like a mixture of tahiri and pullao
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: KHATTI
I haven't made thsi recipe, but I am an Indian and both my husband and I loovveee Biryani and cook often. If you want to know the secret to fast biryani cooking, go to any Indian/Pakistani grocery store and buy "Shan" spice mix for it, its so easy adn really good. I can't say the best, but its so much easier than doing everything that Biryani recipe makes you do.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Jeannine
While this recipe is time consuming, it is well worth it! I made a couple changes, I added cashews and raisins when adding the chicken broth, and I used chicken wings and drumsticks with the bone-in instead of cutting up the whole chicken. This is easier, and I wanted to avoid dry pieces of chicken in other biryani dishes that I have had. The chicken came out extremely tender, it was falling off the bone. Absolutely delicious! The flavor is mild for the Indian palatte, so if you like it spicy add more spice, but overall this recipe is a definite keeper. This would be a great dish to make for a lot of people as the quantity is large. Also be sure to use basmati rice with this it is so aromatic and delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: momica
This really isn't the best biryani recipe I've made, but it's fast for biryani so I thought I'd give it a shot. I had to double all the curry spices and added a good helping of garam marsala. I never even tasted a hint of mint so I'm thinking that doubling the mint might help as well. When you're cooking your rice, I would eliminate the onions and let the spices sit in the oil until it's nice and fragrant. Then add the rice and cook for five minutes to let the rice absorb some of the flavors. Once you've added it to the rest of the recipe don't cook on the lowest temp or it will get soggy. You need to cook basmati rice on a med-low heat and much faster to avoid soggy rice. This recipe is HUGE. I cut it down to four servings and still had too much food.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: ROBBYN FRAZEE
My Brother-in-law is from Pakistan and I love their food so I was looking for recipes to fix for my family. I found this one and my husband has added it to his favorites catagory. I even fixed it for my mother-in-law and she loved it too. Hint on how to make it not take so long...measure out all of your spices and ingredients prior to cooking. Do all of your chopping of the onions and all first and it will go a lot faster. I have fixed this many times now and we love it. Today I am going to substitute beef for the chicken and see how it turns out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: RADHI_NAIR
Chicken Biryani is one of the more complicated rice dishes in Indian/pakistani cooking. Being quite an amateur cook, I still managed to cook up a feast with this single dish and my hubby is still licking his fingers! I am never looking for another biryani recipe after this . Thanks Nazia- Radhika & Jai
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: LG6191972
I made this recipe for a big Diwali party (a traditional Hindu celebration) and got raves. People were asking for the recipe and for leftovers to take home with them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: WILLESDENGIRL
Wow!! This was amazing. I made it for a bunch of friends and made very few modifications. I used boneless skinless drumsticks which I beleive were the perfect choice for this dish as they had enough dark meat to stay plenty moist. The only change I amde was to add raisins and cashews during the rice cooking stage but that was only due to personal preference. I didn't find the recipe particularly time consuming. I started making it 2 hours prior to the time I wanted to serve it and it was ready right on time, during the 2 long cooking stages there isn't anything to do except set the table, pour some wine and enjoy the delicious smells.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches