Reviews & comments (122)

Vietnamese Sandwich

While teaching English in Asia the past several years, I've been lucky to exchange some delicious and authentic recipes with local people. This Vietnamese Sandwich, or Banh Mi, is brilliant and it is a nice break from common sandwiches. Use garlic chilli sauce but Indonesian sambal or Korean chilli paste can also be substituted. This is an authentic recipe of French influenced Vietnamese cuisine.
Reviews (122)


12 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: kasiopia21
nice and easy but what is the sauce biside in the picture
 
06 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Okinell
I personally think that these sandwiches have got to be some of my favourite. However, I got spoiled years a go by a local Vietnamese family restaurant. I would like to offer a few additions to this basic recipe. That is, try adding some sliced jalapeno chilies if you like some spiciness. The local shop also sprinkled some Maggi seasoning sauce. One thing that has been left off of this recipe that I have never seen NOT included is shredded marinated carrots. Finally, consider marinating the pork and charbroiling it. You also might consider pulling out some of the bread inside each sliced half. I know this sounds a bit wasteful, but it will make it much easier to manage and hold all these ingredients/fillings.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: lovewanthave1491
needed the carrots to make it authentic: thinly slice carrots then add it to a bowl containing a mixture of some rice vinegar with 1 teaspoon sugar. You can also marinate the onions and cucumbers in this mixture as well. Do this part fist, so it can marinate fully while you are assembling the sandwich.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Kathy J.
“This is the BEST sandwich I’ve ever eaten!” said my 10 year old daughter. “Hey, even the hot sauce is tasty” said her 9 year old brother as he tore through another huge bite. No leftovers. Clean plates. No dinner conversation. Just lots of crunching and half-closed eyes while hungry people devoured these wonderful sandwiches. While I had been leery of the hot sauce, the lime juice seemed to magically cut it so that it was indeed not too hot for everyone to enjoy, REALY enjoy! This will go on our list of things to serve company in the future. We prepared all the ingredients for this recipe and then when the meat was ready had fun assembling our own sandwiches. I had purchased a boneless pork loin and had the lean end cut into twelve quarter-inch slices that we broiled. We used whole wheat hot dog buns. While the buns were great for the shape of the cucumber slices, I think a whole wheat hamburger or Kaiser type roll would have held up better to the lime juice. They were so delicious though; no one seemed to mind that their sandwiches kept getting soggy with the extra lime juice we kept squeezing on ?
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Mattie
A sandwich with fresh ingredients like this is always good, but this isn't terribly authentic. Missing the pate and fresh jalapeno pepper slices. Also, pickled carrots and onion are usually found in these types of sandwiches.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: SunnyByrd
Yay! I love vietnames sandwiches. I sliced the meat thin and marinated it in a blend of viet sweet chili sauce and viet hot garlic chili sauce. I marinated matchstick carrot and the onion in sugar and vinegar and I added a couple of the veggies they put on at the vietnamese deli's where I live: daikon and sliced jalepenos. We all really enjoyed it - thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Mommysateam
This is a wonderful recipe. I am Viet and my mothers adds pate or "potted meat product" and pickled carrots as well. Also good with roasted chicken. yum yum
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: LORIDILKS
Oh. My. Goodness! I made per the recipe except that I couldn't find the chili sauce with garlic. I found sweet chili sauce in the Asian section of my grocery and made this for dinner guests. The flavor combination was delightful and this will be a keeper! Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Wyattdogster
We thought this was very tasty. Even my hubby who is suspicious of any Asian food that is NOT classified as Chinese had two! I did toss the cucumber with matchstick carrots in a bowl with seasoned rice vinegar with a bit of sugar and let them 'pickle'a bit while I prepared everything else. The chop slices marinated in the garlic chili sauce for an hour or so. Very juicy and flavorful, thanks for posting this recip
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: trancancook
Being Vietnamese, there are a few things that are missing if you want something similar the authentic thing as this was not as flavourful as it should be. As mentioned earlier, the loin chops need to be seasoned, it was too bland for my liking. Pickled carrots and daikon (chinese radish) is a must (julienne carrots and daikon and put in vinegar and sugar to marinate). Also, pate needs to be in there (it may sound gross to some but it's a Viet's replacement for the mayo). Add Maggi seasoning soy sauce as well. Thai chili peppers can be added for more spice as well as chives. Lastly, lightly toast the baguette... it gives it an extra touch. Happy eating!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches

User's IP: 54.224.216.155